Ganges_argya.jpg
  Members Login  /  Register  /  Live Chat
  About Kumbh Mela
  Call me for a Booking

 
  Upcoming events
  • No upcoming events available
 
  Photo & Video Gallery
 
 
 
Shahi Snan/Royal Bath
The Sadhus and Sanyasis are given preference for the Shahi Snan. The other pilgrims can bathe only after the ascetics have taken the holy dip

Home » Shahi Snans, Royal Baths, Kumbh Mela, Ganga Festival, Ganga Holy Dip

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

 

Shahi Snans / Royal Baths

One of the main events of the Kumbha (Kumbh) Mela is the holy dip in river Ganga (Ganges) on auspicious days to wash away ones sins leading to the liberation from the circle of life & death. The main bathing dates at the Allahabad/Praya Kumbha (Kumbh) are;

 

27 January (Sunday) Paush Purnima
06 February (Wednesday) Shattila Ekadashi
10 February (Sunday) Mauni Amavasya
12 February (Tuesday) Kumbha Sankranti
14 February (Thursday) Vasant Panchami
17 February (Sunday) Ratha Saptami
18 February (Monday) Bhishma Ashtami
21 February (Thursday) Jaya Ekadashi
25 February (Monday) Magha Purnima
List of Shahi Snan Days
14 January (Monday) Makar Sankranti
10 February (Sunday) Mauni Amavasya
14 February (Thursday) Basant Panchami
* Shahi Snan on Makar Sankranti is not part of Kumbh Mela

 

  1. 27th January (Sunday) Paush Purnima
  2. 06th February (Wednesday) Shattila Ekadashi
  3. 10th February (Sunday) Mauni Amavasya
  4. 12th February (Tuesday) Kumbha Sankranti
  5. 14th February (Thursday) Vasant Panchami
  6. 17th February (Sunday) Ratha Saptami
  7. 18th February (Monday) Bhishma Ashtami
  8. 21th February (Thursday) Jaya Ekadashi
  9. 25th February (Monday) Magha Purnima

 

List of Shahi Snan Days

 

  1. 14th January (Monday) Makar Sankranti
  2. 10th February (Sunday) Mauni Amavasya
  3. 14th February (Thursday) Basant Panchami

 

* Shahi Snan on Makar Sankranti is not part of Kumbh Mela

 

The main bathing dates at the Haridwar Kumbha (Kumbh) 2010 were;

 

  1. January 14, 2010 (Thursday)  Makar Sankranti Snan  First Snan (bath)
  2. January 15, 2010 (Friday) Mauni Amavasya and Surya Grahan (Solar Eclipse) Second Snan (bath)
  3. January 20, 2010 (Wednesday) Basant Panchmi Snan Third Snan (bath)
  4. January 30, 2010 (Saturday) Magh Purnima Snan  Fourth Snan (bath)
  5. February 12, 2010 (Friday) Maha Shivratri ratham Shahi Snan (First Royal Bath)*
  6. March 15, 2010 (Monday) Somvati Amavasya  Dvitya Shahi Snan (Second Royal Bath)*
  7. March 16, (Tuesday) Nvasamvatsar Snan Fifth Snan (bath)
  8. March 24, 2010 (Wednesday) Rama Navami  Sixth Snan (bath)
  9. March 30, 2010 (Tuesday)  Chaitra Purnima/Vasishnav Akhara Snan  seventh Snan (bath)
  10. April 14, 2010 (Wednesday)  Baisakhi  Pramukh Shahi Sanan (Main Royal Bath) *
  11. April 28, 2010 (Wednesday)  Vaishakh Adimasaha Purnima  Snan for the Vairagis/Bairagis (Fourth Royal Bath)*


  • The Sadhus and Sanyasis are given preference over others. The lay pilgrims can bathe only after the ascetics have taken the holy dip

 

Akhil Bhartiya Akhara Parishad

conceptThe Akhil Bhartiya Akhara Parishad has decides the dates of the Shahi snans (royal baths) of the Kumbha and conveyea the same to the Kumbha (Kumbh) Mela administration. The dates are finalised by Akhil Bhartiya Akhara Parishad, the apex body of all the sadhus, mahants and mandleshwars of different Akharas & Sampradyas

Haridwar Kumbha 2010 dates

Mahant Gyan Das and Mahant Hari Giri, the president and the general secretary of the Parishad said the dates had been decided according to the scriptures in a meeting of the representatives of all the 13 Akharas of the country. The Kumbha Mela officer, Anand Vardhan and the Kumbha Mela DIG, Alok Sharma also attended the meeting. The sant community, which become the centre of the Kumbh Melas, take out royal processions before taking bath, called Shahi snan (royal bath), in the confluence of Ganga, Yamuna and Sarasvati. The Kumbh Mela administration would issue an official notification regarding the dates of the Shahi Snans

 

 

 
Best Viewed with Mozilla Firefox & Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 and above with 1024 x 768 Screen Resolution and above
  Copyright © 2009 Kalpavasi. All Rights Reserved.
Designed by StrApp